About The Redress Movement


The Redress Movement emerged in response to Richard Rothstein’s book, The Color of Law, which comprehensively documents the intentional laws, covenants, and processes that created housing segregation.

These truths coupled with the extrajudicial killings of Michael Brown (2014), George Floyd (2020), and Breonna Taylor (2020) spurred thousands of marches and protests that helped conceive this organization


& Document

The Redress Movement will work with local communities to research and document the history of racial housing segregation in the area. We will organize alongside local activists and provide resources for research, and the assistance of a trained researcher.


We will share our popular education resources that have been developed and created to have conversations across the racial divide. We will work collaboratively with communities to build the public will for changes to redress and remedy the multigenerational impact of segregation.


Finally, we will move people into non-violent action campaigns to win reforms that significantly improve the lives of African American families. The goal is to move large numbers of local people into effective action to win reforms that have specific, significant, and scalable impact and establish a model for what can be done across the country.


The Redress Movement Executive Committee includes prominent leaders from the following organizations:

Executive Leadership

Michael Ansara

The Redress Movement Chief Development Officer

Executive Leadership

Dr. Tiffany Manuel

Interim Executive Director

Organizing Team

John P. Comer

Field Organizing Director

Research Team

Reggie Jackson


Research Team

Bo McMillan


Research Team

Malik Jackson


Organizing Team

Jasmine Wright

Sr. Campaign Organizer, Charlotte

Organizing Team

Kevin Patterson

Sr. Campaign Organizer, Denver

Organizing Team

Dynasty Ceasar

Sr. Campaign Organizer, Milwaukee

Executive committee

Anne Houghtaling

Deputy Director

Thurgood Marshall Institute of the NAACP Legal Defense Fund (LDF)

Debra Gore-Mann

President and CEO

The Greenlining Institute

Dr. Tiffany Manuel

Interim Executive Director

Gail Christopher

Executive Director

National Collaborative for Health Equity

Jeffrey Hicks

Realtist, past President

National Association of Real Estate Brokers

Josie Mooney

Organizing Director

Service Employees International Union Local 1021

Kori Schneider Peragine

Senior Administrator

Inclusive Communities Program, Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council

Lisa Rice


National Fair Housing Alliance

Mary Richardson-Lowry

Vice Chair

Chicago Community Trust